New Music Roundup: November 10th, 2020

Hey again. It’s the staff at .WAV, back with a list of The New and Noteworthy. Keep a lookout for .WAV’s New Music Roundup when it happens. Giddyup!

Archaeopteryx – Monolake

Released through imbalance computer music

Dark, moody, and foreboding, Berlin ambient/techno outfit Monolake’s new record Archaeopteryx is a Tron-tinted trip down the River Styx, with Robert Henke and Torsten Pröfrock serving as Charon, the imposing psychopomp ferryman, along this journey.  This album is dominated by an incredibly disconcerting aura, unending points of tension waiting around every corner.  At 19 tracks and a 95 minute runtime, Archaeopteryx is a behemoth of a listen, but every single track delivers on its promise of overwhelming you in an ocean of body temperature sludge.  Like any good dark ambient album, it leaves you feeling like you’ve spent the last hour and a half floating in the world’s greatest sensory deprivation tank. Personal highlight tracks are probably opener “Gantt Exodus”, midpoint “Ircks Argle”, and “Alu Minimum”, and closer “Allure Publison”. Though understandably difficult for casual listens, Archaeopteryx is undeniably the perfect soundtrack to any Bauhaus hipster’s post-Halloween Halloween warehouse party.

Colin Brunson

“Under Pressure” – Karen O, Willie Nelson

Released through Rockers to Swallow, INC

No one asked for it, but here it is: an acoustic cover of “Under Pressure” by Karen O and Willie Nelson. Who was behind this? How did this happen? The answer is unclear, but it has brought some solace into a week filled with election discourse and crumbling democracy. It is intentionally contradictory to Queen and Bowie’s original. Instead of the bold, fiery sound we are familiar with, Nelson and O’s rendition is calming and uplifting. It acknowledges the obvious: yes, we are very much “under pressure”, but the positive election result shows a shift in pressure, seemingly toward a more stable direction. Admittedly, the song itself isn’t particularly special, however, the idea is there. Take a listen and count this as your self-care for the week.

Delaney Faherty

“Intellectual Bean-Spill” & “Turbulence” – Kevin and the Bikes

Back in 2019, Kevin & The Bikes made waves in the bandcampcore scene when they dropped their first full length album, Dorkcore 101. And boy oh boy, was it full length! A 101 track long odyssey (complete with a podcast) through the world of Ed, Edd n Eddy, told from the perspective of the titular bike loving dork hater, Kevin.

(Click image to listen)

After a brief hiatus, the Bikes are back with noisy lo-fi singles “Intellectual Bean-Spill” and “Turbulence”- both accompanied by delightfully oddball and equally lo-fi music videos. Dorkcore 101 had this sense of unbridled creativity and silliness that seems to be maybe a little pared back with the recent singles, but in exchange there’s an increased quality in the songwriting, performance, and focus on display here. I’m calling it, this is probably going to be the ATNOWLTOTY (album that no one will listen to of the year).

Ironic Songs is set to release November 14th of this year. Check it out when it drops, dork.

Jake Davis

Absolute Boys – Soft People

Released through Sandwhich Kingdom

Blurring the lines between dream pop, psychedelia, and synth pop, Soft People effortlessly showcases their newest sound on their sophomore album, “Absolute Boys”. It’s equally a refreshing new take on dreamy pop music as it is an homage to the early 80’s; it catches listeners in a unique place between stripped drum machines, catchy synth leads, and nostalgic electric guitar. It’s dramatic, elegant music at it’s best; the glamorous vocals and roaring keyboards scream of influences from New Order and Ariel Pink. Tracks like “I Saw The Moon” and “Shot Through” come across as a blend between indie and post-punk. It’s an all around solid record from a group that really knows how to use the keyboard. As it maintains a spacy, dramatic atmosphere throughout the album, the catchiness makes certain parts somewhat danceable and exciting. If you’re looking for an enthralling psychedelic project from a band you’ve never heard from before, look no further than Soft People’s “Absolute Boys”.

Robbie Baker

“Krabby Step (with Tyga & Lil Mosey)” – Swae Lee [Music From “Sponge On The Run” Movie]

Released through Interscope Records

Are ya ready kids? I sure wasn’t when I first pressed play. An icon known to millions, Spongebob Squarepants makes a return to the big screen for Sponge on the Run. Featuring Swae Lee, Lil Mosey and Tyga, the gang came together to create a trapified version of the well known krabby theme. An influx of questions arise, the first being “why?” and “who thought this would be a good idea?” But upon listening, one can’t help but laugh from the absurdity of it all, and soon wonder why this hadn’t been done already. With trap being popular among younger listeners, and with the very likely chance for it to go viral, it becomes a no-brainer to not consider sending Spongebob to the trap. Plus, you simply cannot deny Swae Lee throwing the bars, “I’m flipping them patties, I’m chillin’ with Patrick. The boat pull up backwards, a day full of laughter. See Sandy Cheeks (Yeah), I’m burstin’ her bubble. A jellyfish lover, I’ll catch me a couple (Yeah).” Already seeing the popularity of the recent Travis Scott Meal at McDonald’s, it seems that trap is very viable when it comes to marketing to younger demographics, people who will ultimately become the future ears and executives of the music industry. Next stop- the Bikini Bottom Trap.

Brian Mendez

This article was compiled by .WAV staff members Colin Brunson, Delaney Faherty, Jake Davis, Robbie Baker, and Brian Mendez. Delaney Faherty created the graphic